WFMAD

Every November, professional, amateur, and wannabe writers across the country have tiny mental breakdowns. That’s because they’re in the process of this–NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, in which participants pen 50,000 words over the course of the month of November. It doesn’t have to be good, it just has to get done. There are different variations and extensions of NaNo, but this month I’m attempting something else.

Author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Wintergirls)has decided to do Write Fifteen Minutes A Day, a challenge in which you simply sit down and write something for fifteen minutes every day in August. I don’t think she’s terribly fond of allowing blogging to count, but fortunately I’m accomplishing both today! You may remember my attempt to finish a short story from an earlier post. Well, I’m using WFMAD (woof mad!) to complete the challenge. It’s a really excellent medium for story-finishing, and so far I have not resorted to Write or Die, which frankly sounds very scary and violent, if effective. My fellow blogger, roadtripper, Nerdfighter, etc @collegegirlbeck is also joining me in this challenge, as is my only friend who has actually succeeded in NaNo (props to her). So let’s spread the writing love! I hope some of you might join in, as well. Even though…it’s technically too late?

Image

Anyways, I’m determined to do WFMAD despite the onset of things like college and ridiculously long hours of practicing, so wish me luck! I’m already 10 pages, 6,194 words, and 27,355 characters into “Animal” (and it doesn’t even suck that bad)!

~J

