Songs of Saturday #2

Today the campus bus was stupid. I think I lost 10 pounds just walking everywhere carrying that damn violin… and now I’m gaining it all back by devouring leftover Mellow Mushroom calzone.

Anyways, here are today’s picks. I’ll make this short and sweet because (a) this calzone is delish, and (b) I hear there’s some Criminal Minds playing in my friend’s dorm upstairs.

1. I Will Wait–Mumford and Sons

First thought: Yay, new Mumford song! Still lovely, still folk-y, and still seriously enjoyable. Basically everything they do is beautiful, and this is no exception. I’m not always a banjo fan, but Mumford manages to make it work everytime. Can’t wait for the album release. That is all.

2. Stay and Defend–Wolf Gang

This is one I discovered via the alternative radio station on my way home from a lesson. I instantly was attracted to it because it was exactly the kind of music I dig–it is clearly indie, has a catchy beat, and features a guy with a funny voice. Snaps for Sirius/XM.

3. Eyes Wide Open–Gotye

Everybody in the world (and their dogs) know “Somebody That I Used to Know” by this Australian indie musician. Unfortunately, that’s about the only one they know. I recently purchased Making Mirrors and freaked out over the transition from “Easy Way Out” to “Somebody That I Used to Know” for some reason. But one of my very favorite tracks is this one. It has a driving beat and delivers a full sound, but Wally also uses the lyrics to shout a message about overconsumption (as I see it). Calming but powerful.

4. Crystallize–Lindsey Stirling

This freaking awesome violinist is growing in popularity for combining the classic sound of the violin with the much newer dubstep. She creates super cool arrangements, not to mention the fact that she’s super adorable and leaps around like a fairy, much like Máiréad Nesbitt of Celtic Woman. I’m jealous of her skills.

5. Spaceman–The Killers

“Spaceman” has been stuck in my head on and off all day. I just love it a lot. So here it is!

~J

