The Horrors and Pains of Ear Training (with a surprise cameo)

I just wanted to take a quick moment to whine about something called Ear Training, in which one identifies intervals and such via listening. I was fortunate enough to get out of Theory early enough today due to a very simple quiz (I’ve never loved quizzes so much) that I could come back to work on Ear Training. I’m not sure if this is a fair trade, exactly, but I do know that I didn’t get anything done this weekend, and it was quite necessary to get something done this morning (Note: I’m trying to hold back on the vulgar language). So here I am at the computer, listening to ascending and descending intervals, and this thought pops into my head: What is my life?

I mean, okay. All modesty aside, I do have a pretty good ear for intonation. Out-of-tune things piss me off pain me, and they’re sadly what I notice first. Unfortunately, for some unknown reason, I am absolutely horrible at hearing intervals. I don’t know what it is, but they suck. Ascending, descending… I can’t tell a tritone from a minor sixth from a major seventh. And let’s not even get started on augmented and diminished things.

For those nonmusical readers, ask a music person to play you some of these things. If they play a minor third next to a major sixth, you would say, “Hey, those do sound different. How could you not tell?” Now have them play you some intervals and have you guess. Yeah, now you should understand what I get to do every day (those with perfect pitch be damned).

I guess I really shouldn’t be complaining. I mean, I did pick this major and this career, and I guess I’ll get to do stuff like this every day for the rest of my life (as opposed to every day this semester… although that thought is just as daunting). But what else would I do with those extra 45 minutes of my day? Practice? Pfft.

In other news, I’ve been endeavoring to watch all of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and have reached Season 4. I’ve already seen enough to appropriately fangirl over Spike. Let’s just all take a moment to appreciate this:

;)

 

NO SPOILERS, PLEASE. I’m halfway there!! And I know too much already (thanks, internet), so let’s just keep me in the dark, shall we? :)

~J

