To NaNo or Not to NaNo?

Next month holds many exciting events to look forward to. There’s the small matter of Bela Freaking Fleck coming to my school, the fact that we’re performing Carmina Burana (this being the most famous bit), and Thanksgiving break, during which I’m going to Florida to see family–something I’m looking forward to a whole lot, since I haven’t seen my cousins in a long time, nor have I been to Florida in a while and I miss it so much (Side note: typing this to O Fortuna makes me feel a hell of a lot more epic. You should try it).

There’s also something called NaNoWriMo, which I may or may not have addressed before. Being someone too lazy to go check, I’ll recap: NaNo is a challenge you essentially give yourself to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. It doesn’t have to be a GOOD novel by any stretch of the imagination. The main goal is just to get the words; editing can come later (there’s even a special month for that, MAYBE… could be wrong). It’s an incredibly daunting task that requires you to write at least 1667 words a day to finish on time. Possible, but terrifying and super duper hard.

So we all know how well I did with WFMAD. I failed. Miserably (P.S. I guess I did talk about NaNo). WFMAD decidedly did not happen for me. Does that mean NaNo can? Well, NaNo has a much bigger network of writers–more people participate because a whole organization backs it and makes it way more official–no offense to Laurie Halse Anderson, who’s cranking out an amazing one-woman project with WFMAD. But in sheer numbers, and in prominence, NaNo is at the front. Perhaps this will give me more motivation. But there’s also the small problem of all the stuff I have to do in November, right? And the fact that I have to write every day, and that I have to know what I’m writing about (of which I currently have absolutely no idea). SO if anyone can give me their support, or subject ideas, or anything of the like… it would be much appreciated.

I think we can assume for right now that, yes, I will endeavour to accomplish NaNoWriMo. I’ve been trying off and on since about 7th grade, maybe? And not once have I finished. It would be pretty damn cool to be able to say I wrote a 50,000 word novel. Even if it has no plot, which it almost certainly won’t.

I leave you today with this short, ambiguous blog post and the following video, which is totally worth watching and I can’t believe it didn’t come up higher in the YouTube search results because it for sure made my day. You’re welcome.

~J

 

