Some Thoughts on Prince Charming, Halloween, and NaNo

Warning: This post is going to be a random smorgasbord of various thoughts/rants/ramblings. As if any of my posts aren’t, but…still.

I’d like to start by sharing the following video:

I usually just watch Jenna for comic relief (Note: Much profanity involved in Jenna watching), but she does bring up some excellent, more serious points in this particular video. Yes, Disney movies give us unrealistic hair expectations (RIBBONS DON’T WORK, OKAY), but they also say something about the role of women that we touch on basically every day in my sociology class. If you hang out with me in person at all, you probably know I don’t shut up about my sociology class. This is because it’s so excellent at bringing up everyday occurrences in a completely different light, things that make you go, “Duh, of course society functions that way! It’s so true!” but you might not even notice it otherwise.

Jenna touches on the fact that every single Disney princess, in the end, gets married and finds closure there. What does this tell young girls? “Hey girls, you have to find your Prince Charming. Find your Mr. Right!” How many times have we been told that? It might be through romantic comedies, or peer pressure (“EVERYONE has a boyfriend but me!”), or even through seemingly innocent children’s movies, but the message is certainly there: Find a man, settle down, and your life is more or less complete. You’ll have kids, you’ll live in a nice house and have a happy family, and that’s all you need.

Look, I want to find Mr. Right as much as the next heterosexual college girl. I like guys. But finding “Prince Charming” is not my ultimate goal in life. I’d like to go to conservatory, to make a career as an orchestral musician, a respected private teacher… maybe I’ll even pursue a doctorate and be a violin professor someday. Maybe I’ll travel the world and meet a lot of super cool people and it’ll be life-changing and I’ll be a better person because of it. Who knows? But I’m sure as hell not going to just “settle down” as soon as I get married and say, “Well, I guess this is the end of the line!” “Housewife” is not on my list of Things I Want to Be When I Grow Up.

Not to mention the fact that there’s all these guys who also are capable of love and (even though they’re too manly to admit it) might want to find their own Mrs. Right (is that a thing?). I don’t expect my future husband to do all my shit for me, to protect me all the time, to sweep me off my feet or whatever, etc. etc. I want to be a mutually loving relationship as an equal rather than the damsel in distress.

Again, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting to find your soulmate. In fact, I hope everyone does; love is essential. And by no means is this the I’m Single Love Sucks whine. I just want to be clear that I don’t think finding Prince Charming is not the only thing you can get out of life. I also feel like this is a pretty widely accepted concept nowadays, but I still find many girls very intensely focused on that and much less on other things that might matter more in the here-and-now. End rant.

On a much lighter note, tomorrow is Halloween! Plans? Sit in my friend’s room, eat candy, and watch Netflix. This seems like a very solid plan to me. I am, however, planning on dressing up as Captain Hammer from Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog, played by the ever-charismatic Nathan Fillion, below:

 

Needless to say, I don’t have a hammer in *ahem* either sense of the word… but I do have this, which will be pinned to the front of a shirt for a casual-but-awesome Halloween costume.

Originally created for Homecoming Week’s “Superhero Day.”

This should be the most thrilling Halloween yet.

Finally, I’d like to point out that since tomorrow is Halloween, it’s also the last day of October. And we all know what that means: the next day is the first of November. Which means NANO-TIME. Okay, I’ve written an extensive outline of my novel, The Mermaid Project,  which is essentially and shamelessly ripped off Joss Whedon’s show Dollhouse, which is amazing and everyone should watch it. If this actually works out, I may post excerpts from it on here. I’d also rather not share the full plot on here for fear of idea-stealers, but I’ll for sure elaborate once NaNo gets in full swing. I’ll also share my profile on www.nanowrimo.org later if anyone’s interested in being writing buddies!

I hope this post was at least somewhat coherent. Sometimes I tend to write stream-of-consciousness-style. It makes total sense in my head but ends up not being, like, English to everyone else…

~J

