Songs of Saturday #19

Welp, another Christmas has come and gone. It was pretty short but pretty great, filled with such things as copious amounts of cheese and crackers, red velvet cake, an enormous amount of CDs/iTunes money, a TARDIS shirt, hedgehog socks, an unforeseen food massacre, and a creatively hand-decorated clock from my father.

Now we only await New Year’s and we won’t have to deal with another crazy holiday season until February. For Anna Howard Shaw Day, of course. In the meantime, I will continue to inundate you with music!

1. Slow Dancing in a Burning Room (Live)–John Mayer

This is literally one of my favorite recordings of anything ever. If you enjoy this, definitely check out some of the other related live recordings that YouTube links you to. Then feel free to rock out accordingly. You’re welcome.

2. My Blood–Ellie Goulding

One of my very favourites of Ellie’s newest album, Halcyon. The whole album is pretty beautiful, really, with only a couple of songs I’m not a huge fan of. Currently playing in my car as excellent driving music.

3. Holland Road–Mumford and Sons

Off Babel, another really great album from Mumford. I wasn’t expecting anything drastically different from Sigh No More, but I was hoping for a tad more variety. For example, “Broken Crown” reminded me too entirely of “Dustbowl Dance.” Which I love, but still. Regardless, I still find Babel to be very good on its own, as well as great mountain climbing music.

4. La Mer–Django Reinhardt (and Stephane Grappelli?)

When I first heard about the new movie Django Unchained, all I could think of was this guy: Django Reinhardt, great jazz guitarist from the 30’s and 40’s. I love love this recording of “La Mer.” The video doesn’t credit the violinist heard, but I’m going to hope/assume it’s Stephane Grappelli, another super cool guy who played jazz violin. Jazz. Violin. I mean let’s face it, that’s pretty awesome.

5. Little Numbers–BOY

Discovered this one day, automatically fell in love. Valeska Steiner, the singer, has a very distinctive voice that reminds me of someone else I can’t put my finger on (any ideas?). But this is totally my kind of music. They have an album coming out in the US in February, and I will definitely be looking out for them.

I should be back in time for the stroke of midnight on December 31st, 2012/January 1st, 2013 to inform you of my resolution(s) for 2013, which will hopefully kick 2012’s ass. And parts of 2012 were pretty damn awesome. Like surviving the apocalypse! That was pretty cool, huh?

~J

