Extra Cheese, Please

Contrary to what you may have initially believed, this post is not about pizza. Although I did have pizza tonight, and it was quite excellent. Also, pizza smoked over a fire is surprisingly delicious. True story.

No, this is about a slightly cheesy something I found on Tumblr, which is weird because I don’t even have a Tumblr. I waste too much time as it is on the networking sites I am a part of (this one included), and a Tumblr would probably put me over the edge. Anyways, I discovered the following instructions on my friend’s:

“Take an empty jar anywhere in your room. Everytime when something good happens to you – it doesn’t matter if it is just a little thing, if it makes you happy – write on a little paper why you are happy, fold the paper, and take it into the jar. On the last day of 2013 empty your jar, and see how many little presents life gives to you. Do it in each year.”

Disregarding the broken English, I thought that such a thing might actually be really good for me. I tend to get unnecessarily stressed about things that don’t actually matter than much, and I often lose sight of what really matters–the positive, the things I should be thankful for, the silver lining. And so I obtained a jar from a concerned friend and created this:

I’ve so far kept it to about 3 slips of paper per day (although yesterday merited 4…interesting). Some of them are fairly big events (i.e. last night’s bonfire, where aforementioned pizza was smoked), while others are smaller moments (i.e. compliments, etc). Let’s just keep our fingers crossed that I’ll even remember to write things down. Or even remember things to write them down. I’m a forgetful person…

In other jar news, my sister surprised me yesterday with this adorably redecorated peanut butter jar:

I have no idea what I’m going to use it for yet, but I’m sure I’ll think of something, even if it ends up being just a (rather excellent) decoration.

Today’s daily dose of interesting jars, brought to you by yours truly.

~J

