Songs of Saturday #20

So I started my second semester of college at the beginning of the week, which is actually a really weird thing to think about. Last night I had a very intense discussion with one of my best friends about our personal beliefs and philosophies, religion, and our futures. I know exactly what I believe to the extent where I absolutely know I have no idea what I believe. #agnosticproblems, amirite? But as to the whole future thing–I have no idea. I have a lot of concepts of things I would like to do once I graduate, but absolutely no way of guaranteeing they’ll happen. Fortunately I’m taking an Existential Psychology class (this semester’s go-to rant-all-the-time-about class), which has so far impressed upon me the importance of living in the moment and not worrying about controlling the future. So I suppose the moral of that story is letting go of worries about what will happen and just letting the universe do its thing.

With all the craziness of returning to school last weekend, I neglected to post any music, so sorry about that. Fortunately I remembered today! So here goes:

1. Figure 8–Ellie Goulding

My intense love for Halcyon has not declined in any way, and I’m revising the post from two weeks ago and naming this my favorite off the album. Such a good driving song. Also, I want to be her a little.

2. Ne Me Quitte Pas (Don’t Leave Me)–Regina Spektor

It’s settled. When I get my own place, I’m first getting a cat. Then I’m going to become Regina Spektor and dance around my apartment and play Jenga with myself and walk on the piano and fence on the dining room table and light shit on fire and be awesome. But I might skip putting random things on my head. This is the new version of this song off What We Saw From the Cheap Seats but I don’t mind it any less than her first version.

3. Violin Sonata No 3.: Largo–J.S. Bach (performed by Hilary Hahn)

Currently working on this piece and dying to have her sound. I also really like her interpretation of it–slow enough to be beautiful and passionate, but still moving through the sound with direction. Bach, why must you be so difficult but so amazing?

4. Romulus–Sufjan Stevens

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned how much I love this man? But really, in case it wasn’t clear…. I love this man. Recently one of his songs was featured on a Red Bull commercial, which apparently really upset some people. The man’s gotta make money, though, and I honestly don’t think the commercialization of one of his songs is going to commercialize him–he doesn’t seem like he would do that. I mean, have you HEARD Age of Adz?! In case anyone’s curious, by the way, the song on the commercial is “Redford (for Yia-Yia and Pappou),” also off Michigan and also gorgeous.

5. Walk Through the Fire–written by Joss Whedon, from Buffy the Vampire Slayer

And my nerdiness increases! My friend recently gifted me the soundtrack from “Once More With Feeling,” the S6 Buffy episode structured like a musical and, I can say with absolute conviction, one of the greatest TV episodes to air ever. Here’s one from towards the end of the episode featuring all the cast (I think). I believe this was Joss Whedon’s first attempt at a musical of any size, and I think he did pretty damn well, especially since afterwards he went on a roll and created Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-Long Blog, among other awesome things that were not necessarily musicals… but still awesome.

Good luck to all of you also starting a new semester or term of anything. :)

~J

