Songs of Saturday #21 (or Tribute to Myself)

I promise promise promise, one of these days I will actually post on the intended day of posting. I’m home for MLK weekend after an insane couple first weeks, and I’ve been using it as another Get Your Shit Together (GYST) Weekend. This basically means I get to spend the days doing homework, practicing (which I actually have yet to do…eesh), doing laundry, and cleaning, among other fun activities. Yesterday I was doing pretty well, but eventually broke down around 10 or 11pm and started Arrested Development Season 2. I’ve been doing so well all week, too!

And so I begin this Sunday morning with reading for my Existential Psychology class–dry reports of various studies and experiments, interesting in theory but mostly pretty dull to read–and a break to blog.

1. From Here On Out–The Killers

This just came on my shuffle–perfect! I have developed into a huge Killers fan recently and am now the proud owner of all their albums, including the most recent, Battle Born, which this is from. I know they’re coming to my city pretty soon… hopefully I’ll be able to tell you I’ll be going!

2. No Room For Doubt–Lianne La Havas

Lianne La Havas is slowly becoming one of my favorites, with her soft, distinct voice and soulful sound. I haven’t had time to explore her music much yet, but I like everything I hear. Not to mention that this is a Take Away Show (Concert à Emporter), which is the very best thing ever. Basically, this group called La Blogothèque organizes for indie musicians (such as Andrew Bird, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver, The Lumineers, Phoenix, Beirut, Vampire Weekend, Mumford and Sons…I could go on) opportunities to simply walk around Paris and give impromptu performances. It’s pretty wonderful, and I freely admit to having spent hours watching some of my favorite musicians participate in Take Away Shows and Soirées de Poche.

3. White Winter Hymnal–Fleet Foxes

Since I just went on a rant about Take Away Shows, I remembered this recording as well–one of the greatest things I’ve ever seen. Also look at the Bon Iver video from this post. It’s just so wonderful to hear such personal live performances full of feeling, and not just a musician reciting their songs to a crowd of thousands. I much prefer the smaller shows, where the artist communicates with their audience through music. I believe that’s exactly what all musicians should do every time, but sometimes the showiness required of modern-day performances overshadows the actual musical talent. *steps gingerly off soapbox*

4. Tightrope–Walk the Moon

I was introduced to this song/group during a music-sharing spree with a friend. I don’t know much about them, but I rather like the song. And the video’s pretty weird, but not uncool.

5. Cups–Lulu and the Lampshades/Anna Kendrick

One of the most memorable scenes (for me) of Pitch Perfect (which you should see if you haven’t) is Anna Kendrick’s audition for the university women’s a cappella group, which is shown to be a pretty last-minute decision for her character. She sits in the middle of the stage, takes a cup from the girls she’s auditioning for, and proceeds to sing this song. Upon further investigation, I found this to be the original version of the song (the original original version is an old folk song from the 30s–“Miss Me When I’m Gone” but he Mainers Mountaineers). Anna Kendrick’s version is here.

In the middle of my homework yesterday, I took a break, messed around with GarageBand, different kinds of cups, and some harmonies for a bit, and came up with the following:

By no means is it perfect, but I’m pretty proud of it, especially since I wouldn’t exactly call myself a singer, and I still managed to stay on pitch most of the time. Opinions–good or bad, though I request constructive criticism as opposed to “go home, you suck”–are most welcome.

Now, sadly, I must return to a life of psych reading and laundry and errands and whatnot. I will do my best to keep up with the blog better this weekend, but I’m traveling with the orchestra to Savannah, so we’ll see how that works out…

~J

