Songs of Saturday #22 & Savannah

Wow, I am doing an absolutely terrible job of this (this is why we can’t have nice things).

My excuse is that between rehearsals and concerts and practicing and homework and traveling, blogging kind of gets lost in the shuffle. Also, I’m not entirely sure you want to read about my psychology reading and failed attempts at Vieuxtemps Violin Concert No. 4.

Thursday night I left for Savannah with the orchestra and chorus. We began the trip with the delightful smell of Brussels sprouts permeating the bus and eventually put in the Charlie Sheen/Kiefer Sutherland version of The Three Musketeers, neither of which were very fantastic experiences. But once we got into Savannah, it was a whirlwind 3-in-1-day trip of midnight WaHo, candy stores, good food, being late to rehearsal and hauling ass across Savannah, and one last awesome performance of Carmina Burana.

I cheated and threw in some pictures from when I went to All-State Orchestra in 2010. But basically Savannah is gorgeous, and I wish we could have had a bit longer.

Unfortunately, it was back to reality beginning yesterday, and the homework and rehearsals and practicing and concerts continue. I honestly really love being a music student, though, and being down there for the music educators’ conference was pretty cool. Knowing that all of those people support the arts and many of them were once where I am now gives me hope that maybe I won’t have to be a starving artist. I don’t plan on being a music teacher in a school, necessarily, but I still hope to teach privately and influence someone’s life in some way. Maybe my future students won’t end up being musicians or teachers or even music majors, but I’m positive that they’ll be much better off with that knowledge regardless.

*insert witty transition here*

1. Silvia–Miike Snow

I don’t know, I find this song beautiful in some weird way. Miike Snow has such a unique sound, and this is one of the best.

2. The Cave–Two Door Cinema Club (Mumford & Sons Cover)

I discovered this while hunting around SoundCloud last week, and kind of freaked out a little. You have the classic TDCC guitar, but it still sounds appropriately Mumford. I really love this cover.

3. Video Games–Ben Howard (Lana Del Rey Cover)

I was also pretty excited to discover this. An absolutely gorgeous cover. I want his guitar skillz. Also, can we talk about how perfect that accent is?

4. This Place is a Prison–The Postal Service

First let’s talk about how Ben Gibbard is my love. And also that there were rumors that the Postal Service was doing another album, and now they’re not?? And also about how they’ll be at Coachella this year, which I probably won’t be able to go to because it’s on the other side of the country??!! *cries* But really, this is a beautiful song, and if they did another album I would be so so happy.

5. Do You Remember the Riots?–Jens Lekman

Jens Lekman is a very weird but wonderful man. This is not a good example of the weirdness, but it is definitely pretty wonderful. Next cover? I could hit those bass notes.

This has been an excellent procrastination tool, but it looks like I now actually have to do stuff… *sigh* Here we go with another crazy week! Good luck to you all as well~

~J

