7 Things I’ve Accomplished Over Spring Break

1. I climbed another mountain!

A friend and I took a couple hours to walk up this mountain not far from where I live. This one was slightly bigger than the one my subdivision is on (if you remember Mountain Climbing). So that was pretty cool. It also justified my ice cream consumption the night before.

From the top!

From the top!

2. Continued Game of Thrones.

I wish wish wish I could tell you I’ve finished. Alas, there are so many things I’ve been trying to get done over break, and most of them don’t get done anyways because Internet. But I’m almost there! And by almost there I mean almost through the first book… I know, I’m a terrible fan.

3. Spent a lot of money.

This is something that seems to happen a lot when I come home from school. Between shopping trips and purchasing supplies for school, whenever I’m home money seems to flow out of the household. (Sorry, parents. I love you, I really do.)

On the plus side, I got this cool ring, so

On the plus side, I got this cool ring, so

4. Reread Looking for Alaska, cried a little (warning: fangirling ahead).

The first John Green (read: life-changing) book I ever read was An Abundance of Katherines because I was looking for new books to read and I saw it on a website and the idea that anyone could date 19 people named Katherine in 17 years was pretty revolutionary to me (and to most people, I’d imagine). From there, I discovered Alaska, then Paper Towns (which I read bi-monthly, basically), then WGWG, then The Fault in Our Stars (which I have not dared to reread because I know I’ll be in pieces all over again). I now finally own all of them except Katherines (somewhat ironically?), and I imagine I’ll be rereading all of them pretty regularly now (EXCEPT TFiOS BECAUSE IT’S TOO DAMN SAD. But really, really good. Please read it). If you find me with my nose in my book and tears pouring down my cheeks, don’t worry too much.

5. Started The X-Files.

And it’s really, really good. A little creepy, definitely very weird, but really good. I’m only halfway through Season 1, but if I could finish 7 seasons of Buffy in a relatively short period of time, I’m sure this won’t take long either (oh ye gods, there goes my life).

6. Discovered two excellent webseries.

And as if Netflix isn’t bad enough, I’ve also found School of Thrones and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. School of Thrones is a brand-new thing and there’s only one ep, but I already have a feeling it’s going to be hilarious. Here’s the first one to get you started (Prom Is Coming):

I also found one of Hank Green’s creations, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, basically modern-day Pride and Prejudice in vlog form. It’s goofy and cute and silly, but the eps are only 3-5 minutes long, and it’s so easy to just keep clicking next….next….next…

Hilariously enough, the girl who plays Lydia Bennet is also Sansa Stark. Wut.

7. BRUNCH.

And by brunch, I mean, “Got together with several high school friends.” It’s always good to see people when you return. Especially when you get to enjoy brunch with two of your besties and talk about life problems/plans/food the whole time. Plus, red velvet pancakes with cream cheese frosting?? Yes yes yes please.

…Not much else has occurred so far. Of course, I still have a few days left. Hopefully by that time I’ll have gotten all of my homework done (why is homework even a thing during break? WHY), found a ton of cool music, gotten through the LBD (so it doesn’t join forces with the X-Files to take over my free time), baked (still haven’t done that yet), and de-stressed further. Although despite all the stuff I have yet to accomplish, this is the most relaxed I’ve been in months. Lovely~

~J

