I’m Done!

It’s official, folks–as of about 10pm last night, I’m completely done with my first year of college! This is both thrilling and terrifying, because that just means I’m one step closer to my post-college future, during which I have NO idea what will happen. And I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

So far, my GPA is dropping but not plummeting, which is fantastic. Honestly though, getting through this semester with As and Bs is all I could ask for. I passed my performance jury, so I’m officially a violin performance and psychology double major, which sounds very busy/important/formal, but I’m actually having a great time with both. So even though I may suffocate under my 19 hours of class next semester, it’s 19 hours of stuff I love (except Aural Skills. Aural Skills can go).

And so my summer will be spent visiting/texting/Skyping all of my friends until I come back, which is kind of pathetic I guess, but I’ve formed a lot of bonds with a lot of amazing people here, and saying goodbye to them this week has been pretty hard. I just finished unpacking (SO MUCH STUFF), and I already have a small pile of stuff I’m taking right back. It’s weird to leave home and come home simultaneously. But I guess that’s a good thing. I feel like I’ve grown and changed a lot in the past year, hopefully for the better. I’ve definitely learned a lot more about the world and about myself, and I can’t wait to go back and discover even more.

In the meantime, I’ll attempt to find a job (in a place where everyone and their mother is also trying to get the same job) and/or gigs to make a little money and keep myself preoccupied during the next few months. Look out for inane updates about baking, song-covering, practicing, Netflix-watching, etc. etc. and hopefully some really solid updates about adventuring. Because summers should always contain adventures (fingers crossed).

Also, shameless self-promotion–due to procrastination, curiosity, and/or other factors, I have joined social media networks such as Twitter, SoundCloud, and Vine. Conveniently enough, I am also saxtonophonist on all of these. Find me! I’ll need some form of entertainment this summer…

Also, have this:

(I died a little when Louis started singing)

~J

